top of page

Sometimes We Fly




With all your heart you must trust the LORD and not your own judgment. Proverbs 3:5

I was on my way to the airport today and I began to think about life. You see, our life is one big trip. We all have a destination but we all have different ways of getting there. Today my first destination was the airport, now I live about 45 minutes from the airport so I had to drive there. I’ve been to the airport many times so I know how to get there and about how long it takes with traffic. The trip was pretty uneventful and I made it on time for my flight. Once I got to the airport I had to find my gate, board my plane and wait. This is the part I really don’t like.

Waiting… Seriously, who likes to wait?

You see in life we take many trips and we have many destinations. Everyday we’re traveling somewhere, the store, school, work a friend’s house, and each trip is different. Now most of our travels are made by car, bike, foot, but sometimes we fly. We are a people who like to be in control of most things that we do but some things we have no control over.

You see God has given us several assignments in life and he has given us a map to navigate them all. Some are short and sweet and some are long and enduring. In our everyday life we tend to get comfortable and kind of cruise through our daily routine. Every now and then we have to take a trip to the airport where we have no control. Our entire trip is in the hands of the pilot.

You see some trips in life can’t be made without God carrying us. I mean, I know that in everything we are supposed to rely on God but do we really? Do we really trust in him for every journey we take?  Most of us think that we can get to most of our destinations on our own, I mean we may pray and seek God’s council but let’s keep it real. Some journeys require us to fly and without a pilot we aint going no-where. The trick is to allow God to be our pilot through life, Flying is so much easier than driving or walking all we do is get on the plane and trust the pilot to take us where we are going. Our final destination in life is to be joined in paradise forever with Jesus Christ, but while we are here on earth we really need to learn how to let God be our pilot.

When’s the last time you flew?

bottom of page