top of page

Ever Thought Of…Telling Someone?


Have you ever read something or heard something that got you real excited?  Or something that you just couldn’t wait to go tell someone about? Have you ever tasted something that was so good that you had to call a friend and let them know about it? Learning something new is so cool. Or experiencing something  for the first time always seems to bring excitement.

It reminds me of my youngest son who is four years old.  He is in his first year in school, kindergarten.  He comes home everyday so excited because he has learned something new.  He can’t wait to share it with us.

What if I told you that you could learn something new everyday of your life and you would be so excited about it that you would have to tell someone.  It’s true, we have the capacity to never stop learning. Human beings are built with an endless ability to learn. Now that’s all good, but what are we learning? Are we investing our time in things that make us want to shout it from the roof tops?  Or are we learning things that are only useful to us?

I remember when I first learned that Jesus called himself God. For me that was awesome, I couldn’t wait to tell someone.

I tell you the truth,” Jesus answered, “before Abraham was born, I am!” At this, they picked up stones to stone him, but Jesus hid himself, slipping away from the temple grounds.  John 8:58-59

Isn’t that exciting?! You see you have to understand some of the background of the story. Why did I get so excited about that?

Well, I had a cousin that didn’t believe that Jesus and God were one.  I was new in my faith and I would study for hours.  One day my cousin called and we began to discuss the bible and she said that Jesus never claimed to be God.  It was one of those “okay God I’m counting on you” moments.  I remember turning to John and reading that verse, it was like God himself explained it to me…actually it was God himself, the Holy Spirit. I read it to her and she said I was misinterpreting it. So my response was, I guess the pharisees misinterpreted Jesus too because they tried to stone him.

You see the bible is alive, it is like living water and it brings life, hope and excitement, to those who read it. If we spend time with God everyday and we are willing to learn, then God is willing to teach.  In this lifetime we could never learn everything, so let’s just learn the stuff that God wants to teach us.

If we do that, we will always be growing closer to him and we will become more like him.

Now isn’t that something to be excited about? Read the bible and tell the world. It’s that simple.

Just a thought…

bottom of page